Disconnected Dreams

She is in my dreams. She lights up my mind, yet heart, heavy. She is cold, indifferent, no trace of sadness. My reaction, one of anger, two, disbelief. Maternal love, the primal urgency to connect, hidden behind my defensive words filled with pain and anguish. Through her vacant stare, there is loss. Loss of what she knew to be true. Loss of what she saw in me, in herself – vanished. A thread of familiarity lay dormant, wrestles, longs to be awaken. I awaken, labored breathing, reality in tact – at its most basic level, empowered by love

 

Leave a Reply

