Wisdom of an Adult Kid

Wisdom comes. Just gotta be willing to hear it. 

One whom I’ve learned so much from over the past several months is my niece. Her insight, wisdom and heart – a teacher to others – to me. We share an inexplicable bond, as her dad has pulled away from her just as my adult children have done the same. More significant, she is dealing with her own relationship with her parents as an adult child and coming to her own conclusions. I was blown away with something she shared last month. 

With her permission, this is what wisdom looks like:

“Hello Sweet Auntie💕

Update:

As miserable as my first two weeks were in Alaska, the following two flew by. I learned a lot about me, my children and I learned a lot about my mom.

Everything I learned will help us in the future and maybe one day we will have a fabulous time together.

What it comes down to is that my mom is her own kinda woman as we all are. It’s impossible for her to be all the things I dream of in a mom. God reminded me that is why He has supplemented my parents with many many wonderful loving parental figures in my life. It doesn’t mean I don’t consider my parents my parents or that I don’t love them but rather accpeting them for who they are, never hoping they will be someone else and appreciating the good they do bring and then remain thankful for each individual that He has brought to my life to take care of the woman in me.

I love you and you are one of those women that He has given me to fulfill a special place in my heart. You are so special to me and I love you Aunt Carin💞”

Coming from a thirty-three-year-old woman, coming into her own, with two young children, loving husband and newly transplanted to a new city, far from the town she grew up in – we can all learn. 

We have expectations of our parents, children, people. Acceptance isn’t a given. It is only through extensive thought, reflection and strong doses of prayer, we are given the opportunity to love others as they are. There are no replacements, though God is generous with supplements. 

“No one can ever be replaced.

But I have seen The Lord bring the love, support, encouragement & strength I need so often through those I  least expected it.

Those whom I expected much more & have “failed” Me,

Well ….

I’ve seen how I failed too..

This awakening is the pain that has brought the great changes in my life, the dependency On God that I needed, has enabled me to empathize, and be there for others who are suffering.

In many ways,

I believe pain is one of the greatest blessings in our lives.”

img_7595

 

We’ll find each other soon. ❤

Leave a Reply

